Executive Mayor announces his Cabinet

The new Executive
The new Executive

Executive Mayor Andy Abrahams has announced his new cabinet and set out his vision for the next four years after being re-elected.

The seven-strong cabinet includes both old faces and new, selected to help steer the work of the council. 

Deputy Mayor will remain with Councillor Craig Whitby.
The Portfolio Holder for Environment and Leisure remains Councillor Andy Burgin, a ward councillor and parish councillor in Warsop, ward councillor and officer at Ashfield District Council.

Councillor Stuart Richardson retains his portfolio for Regeneration and Growth and has served with the council since 2011.

The new cabinet is as follows:

  • Cllr Stuart Richardson - Portfolio Holder for Regeneration and Growth
  • Cllr Craig Whitby - Deputy Mayor and Portfolio Holder for Corporate and Finance 
  • Cllr Andrew Burgin - Portfolio Holder for the Environment and Leisure
  • Cllr Anne Callaghan - Portfolio Holder for Housing 
  • Cllr Caroline Ellis and Cllr Angie Jackson - Portfolio Holders for Wellbeing, Health and Safer Communities

Executive Mayor Andy Abrahams said: “I am really pleased to introduce my new cabinet. I have established an executive team of people that are right for the job. We now need to work together to bring about a fresh start for Mansfield and deliver a programme of change.

"It is an honour to be Executive Mayor of Mansfield again and I promise that our team will be committed to improving the lives of all our residents and communities.

"I believe we have already started to put plans in place for the whole of the Mansfield District to get us back on that road to recovery.
"There are still very challenging times ahead, especially the continuing consequences of the cost of living crisis and the squeeze on council finances and services.

"But I promise the focus will be to care and protect our communities, regenerate our town and district and invests in skills and the local economy. These three pledges go together because without one of the neither of the others will succeed."

The first meeting of the Full Council also took place today (Tuesday 23 May) and included the appointment of Chairman, chairs of committees and external representation of the authority. 

Chair of the Council, Cllr Sue Swinscoe

Vice-Chair of the Council, Cllr Terry Clay

Chair of Governance and Standards, Cllr Alan Bell

Chair of Licensing, Cllr John Coxhead

Chair of Planning Committee, Cllr Andy Wetton

Chair of Personnel Committee, Elected Mayor Andy Abrahams

Chair of Polling Place Review Committee, Councillor Michael Abbs

Chair of Overview and Scrutiny (Communities & Services), Cllr Jane Beachus 

Chair of Overview and Scrutiny (Place), Cllr Diana McKenzie

Chair of Overview and Scrutiny (Corporate Resources), Cllr Paul Henshaw

Published: May 23rd 2023